Queens of the Stoneage

This week on Wednesday (25.08.2010) me and my lovely Boyfriend had tickets for the sold out Queens of the Stoneage Concert here in Hamburg.

I was super excited as I love to see bands performing live on stage. The location is one of my favourite ones here in Hamburg. Its called Stadtpark and it is a very old and really popular Park in this Hanseatic City of Hamburg. The area in which the concert took place is only a small part of the Park itself. The whole day before the concert started (at 7 p.m.) I found myself looking outside of the window hoping the weather would be good in the evening. Well, at least dry, I hoped by seeing the heavy clouds.

We did not actually went to the concert alone, as Kai brought a workmate, who shared the whole experience with us. I had never met Lena before and I was a bit shy and reserved but polite as I am always with not familiar people but it turned out that me and her had a few similar interests including snowboarding and the urge of learning to surf. So it was really funny.

We got to the Stadtpark just in time (okay we missed the Newcomer)so there were about ten minutes until the band started their set. Belive it or not! The whole concert long it was dry and we even had a beautiful blue sky! I can tell how thankful I was for that, cause Open Air and heavy rain is a bad combination! The set started with a lot of “slow” song but as time flowed by they caught up on speed. Very great moment that was!

Being able to see bands live on stage is one of my greatest pleasures. I feel so much alive and happy if I stand in that crowd singing the songs with all the others and seeing my favourite band perform. I love to dance during the songs and feeling the whole vibe and this special energy always fills me up with excitement and pure joy.

Here are a few bands I have seen in the last few years:

  • 30 Seconds to Mars
  • Nelly Furtado
  • Franz Ferdinand
  • The Hives
  • The Subways
  • Black Eyed Peas
  • Marylin Manson
  • White Lies
  • Beaststeaks
  • Apocalyptica
  • Kasabian
  • Seeed
  • Runrig
  • Joss Stone
  • Rooney
  • David Garrett
  • The Wombats
  • Nneka
  • Mando Diao
  • Pennywise
  • Snow Patrol
  • Maximo Park
  • Placebo (2x)
  • Patrice (2x)
  • The 69 Eyes
  • Eminem

I am really looking forward to the next concert. I don’t know which one it’s going to be yet but one thing that is for sure –

there always be a next one!

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Queens of the Stoneage

  1. Andrew says:

    Hi Linn,

    ‘Sounds’ like you had a fantastic time. 🙂

    Blimey how many bands have you seen in the last few years!! Plus some amazing artists!

    I love open air classical music concerts (plus with a picnic).

    All the best

  2. Mike says:

    Hi Linn,

    Love concerts myself and especially open air in the park ones. Chairs, picnic, wine and fireworks at the end

    Next Saturday 4th Sept there is one over here but don’t think I can go. Probably too old for you too. This one is nostagia with bands from the 80’s Rick Astley, Bananarama, ABC, Imagination and East 17. Plus local band Moscow.

    Mike

    • Linn Graves says:

      East 17 ?! They are still together?! Amazing. Loved them as I was a Teen!! 🙂
      Thank you Andrew and Mike. You are really some British Gentlemen. Concerts and Picnic. Utterly brilliant.:)As you see on that “Stadtpark” link there isnt much space for a picnic. Just standing.I would love to visit some sort of Concert where you have the oportunity to picnic whilst listen to the music.:)
      Wish you two a great start into this weekend.:)

Leave a Reply

