Following a new path

By picking a Word for the whole Year of 2011 I find myself in the middle of a process. The word I have chosen is DEVELOP.  This word is growing in my mind and thoughts after I selected it. I was surprised that this word really made me think…What does this word exactly mean and how can it fit in my life? Does it really have to fit or can and shall this word be a great chance to follow a new path in my life?

The Dictionary I’ve asked told me this about the word DEVELOP: “The verb DEVELOP has 21 senses” , which really surprised me.:) Here are a few meanings that I liked a lot and which surly help me to follow this new path of mine.

  • make something new, such as a product or a mental or artistic creation
  • work out
  • gain through experience
  • grow emotionally or mature

The best chance to develop as a person is of course education if you ask me. So my first step was to scan through a program of adult evening classes and I really found some classes that really caught me.  I signed up and I got the acceptance for the courses I ve chosen today. What a happy Girl I am now.=) Now for the courses I have picked:

  • I start to dance Ballet again. I am so happy about it.:) I had a huge break (nearly 5 years) and I always miss not being able to dance. So I decided its more than time to take classes again.
  • Learning to patchwork and make my first own Quilt in February. Hope it will look as beautiful as this one:

I dont own this picture

(I found this pic on: http://quiltstory.blogspot.com/2011/01/absolutely-little-girls-quilt.html )

In May I start to work out with the NIA technique I am so curious to try that. It’s a whole new way of working out and I am more than ready to get fir again!:)

This is my new path, which I am following over the next months. I am so ready to try out all these great and different leisure time experiences and I surly let you know how I am doing and also how I DEVELOP. 🙂

Tell me what you think and leave a comment! 🙂

Love*Linn*

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Following a new path

  1. Jenn says:

    I like the word you chose, and your list of things to learn or brush up on looks great! I didn’t know you did ballet — that’s so neat! And Quilting is fun; I hope it goes well for you! What kind of pattern will you make?

    Have fun! 🙂

    xoxo
    Jenn

    • Linn Graves says:

      Thank you so much for your comment Jenn!:) Yep, I am such a ballet Girl!:) Love it. Do you do something similar? Or perhaps any sports??:)
      Will tell you which pattern I will lern.Going to be a simple one for beginners!;) Do you know how to quilt??:) Thats SO american!!:)
      Thanks again for your comment. Think about blogging about your time in france??Would love reading it!:D
      xxLinn

  2. Andrew says:

    Blimey!!!!

    Loving this post and attitude! You’ve chosen a great word and are embracing it with your positive and forward looking attitude. I love how varied your steps are..i.e. quilt, dancing, fitness etc. Tackling your word of the year at different angles.

    I’m looking forward to reading more about your word of the year.

    Awesome post Linn.

    All the best

    Andrew

  3. Linn says:

    Hi Andrew,
    aww, you dont see me blush but I really do at the moment. :)Im so glad you liked my post. Thats really the way I feel at the moment. For the first time I WANT to have a CHANGE and for the first time I have the feeling I am positiv and energetic enough to make some great steps in my life. To really paint a whole new picture for this year. All the other years I rather had the feeling as if the time will decide or bring up topics over the year but NOW its MY TURN to decide..which topics I WANT to deal with. Things I always wanted to do and actually never did. =)
    Thank you muchissimo Andrew for this lovely comment and all the best also for YOU!
    xx

  4. Great Post Linn. Very inspiring! 🙂

  5. Linn Graves says:

    Hello Janet!:)
    Thank you very much for your comment. What a surprise! 🙂 Glad you feel inspired. Do you have a own blog??:) Would love to read yours. xx

  6. […] this number 1 in most  my decisions. Part of choosing this word was that I entered a few classes ( Read the full article here ) Ballet, Patchwork/ Quilting and NIA. I was excited to try things I have never done before like to […]

Leave a Reply

