How to make an amazing Carrot Cake

A few months ago I started trying new baking recipes. As me and my handsome Mister  are such big Lovers of all sorts of homemade bakery  I focused on baking nearly every weekend. I really love it even though I am highly stressed (others may say extremely focused) in the baking process. So its ME alone in the kitchen. Please!;)

This is going to be my first food blog so please be gentle!:) The recipe is from this German page -> rezepte.cgi?RezeptNr=54

To make a wonderful tasty and after all easy carrot Cake you need:

  • 125g soft butter (non salted)
  • 1 Pack of vanilla suger
  • 225g brown sugar
  • 3 eggs (I took the medium ones)
  • 250g rasped Carrots
  • 50g ground walnuts or pecan
  • 100g  ground tonsils
  • 175g flour, 50g starch flour
  • 1 pack of baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves powder
  • pinch of salt

  • Heat up your oven on 175 degrees Celsius (350 F)  (Gas mark 4)
  • Rasp the carrots

  • Mix the butter with spices (cinnamon, nutmeg& cloves powder) and all of the sugar until it is foamy
  • Add the Eggs, Carrots and all of the nuts

  • At last add the tonsils, the flour, starch flour and baking powder

  • Stirr everything until you have a smooth dough
  • Put the dough in a greasy baking pan. It’s up to you which one you want to use. I used a round one.

  • Bake for 45 minutes in the middle of the oven
  • Let it cool down in the baking pan after baking. At least 1,5 h until the cake is compleatly cool

Now comes the fun part: Its FROSTING TIME!!! 🙂

There tons of different frostings as you can see here ->  www.frostingrecipes.net 🙂 Frosting makes the cake looks prettier but it also adds another flavour to it. We don’t use many Frostings in the German bakery so I always peek into the British or American recipes to get ideas.:) For the Carrot cake I decided to make a Cream Cheese Frosting. All you need is:

  • 40g butter (nonsalted)
  • 40g vegetable fat
  • 100g Cream Cheese (room temperature)
  • 250-300g icing sugar (confectioner’s sugar)
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extracts (or any other you prefer)
  • All you have to do is to stir all the ingredients together until its white and soft
  • If you prefer it more solid you can put it into the fridge for 30min.

I decided to use it straight away. 🙂 You can take a knife or such a special thingy (don’t know what it calls in English -scusi) to cover the icing on your cooled down Carrot Cake.

If you are done with covering your Carrot Cake with Vanilla Cream Cheese Frosting must look somewhat like this!:) (above)

If you want to decorate it than its now the time!!:) Add what you like..how about ground pistachios to add a contrast or small little marzipan carrots?:) Feel free as long as you have FUN everything is ALLOWED!:)

As it was only for the two of us I decided to leave it like this (if I would bring it to a party or anything else I would have made it a bit more fancy:) of course!! )

We enjoyed our piece of amazing Carrot Cake with a good Mug of Coffee.But Tea is also perfect. Whatever you like.:)

Tagged , ,

8 thoughts on “How to make an amazing Carrot Cake

  1. beckysefton says:

    Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

  2. Amber says:

    Oh Linn that looks WONDERFUL! I have never made a carrot cake, but I’m tempted too now with this recipe! Cream cheese frosting is one of my favorites too. Your cake looks gorgeous and delicious! I can’t wait to see more of your recipes.

    xoxox

    • Linn Graves says:

      Hi Ambie,
      thank you for your comment.:) You simply HAVE to try it. I am sure you would love it. Its super easy and tastes soooo good!xx Glad that I triggered you to try it!^^ I loved writing a food blog and I really can think of more to write!!!:) You should write one about your fave baking recipe too!!!:) Love trying new recipes and even more when its one you can recommend. xoxo

  3. Janetwheeler says:

    OMG Linn that looks so yummy! I am going to have to try your recipe! I love to bake too and my daughter wants to be a pastry chef so weight loss in my house is going to be a challenge 🙂

    • Linn Graves says:

      Hi Janet,
      thank you so much for your comment!:) Your daughter wants to be a pastry chef?!:) She needs to think about an own pastry blog!!:) Would love reading it!:)
      Have a nice day and thank you again for your comment. That really means a lot! 🙂
      xx

  4. Andrew says:

    Hello Linn,

    My better half and I don’t eat eggs, but I bet this can be made with egg replacement. 🙂 Will avoid the cinnamon though if we do!

    The frosting looks fantastic!

    A well presented recipe.

    All the best

    Andrew

    • Linn Graves says:

      Hello Andrew,
      thank you very much for your comment.:) You should try the recipe with egg replacement-if you do please tell me how it turned out?!:) LoL! A Carrot Cake is also thinkable without cinnamon but to be honest. You dont taste it that much. You taste a spicy flavour and dont taste the pure cinny flavour. So you really can give it a go!:)
      Thank you again for taking time to read my post!! xx

Leave a Reply

