On your marks. Get set. GO!

In January I wrote about following a new path in my life. During this year of 2011 I want to focus on developing myself and learn something new.  Filling  my spare time with some exciting classes. Now the time has finally come. Its is mid February and my courses are about to start.

The best course starts with a good preparation. That is something everyone knows. Right?! So for the Patchwork Class I went shopping at  Charlottas to get some nice fabric for my quilt and I have to admit it wasnt that easy. Standing in a tiny room between 7 woman and two Children. All around us shelves with fabrics all different and beautiful but I really lost focus. One of the shop assistant tried to help me to collect some nice fabrics but I am not sure if and how it will turn out on the quilt, which is going to be my first. After 1,5 hours in this small and super warm store I was slightly annoyed and really overwhelmed..well, I simply thought it would be more easy. Hm. In a store for sewing supplies I bought everything a sewer needs: scissors, tape measure, a thingy that helps you cut lines perfectly (yes, there are such great helpers out there.I would love to had that one as I was a kid in Kindergarten:)) lol and needles.

For my Ballet Class I had to dig deep into my wardrobe to find my old Ballet clothes.

Yep, I still got them as they are very precious to me. I also found a pair of new Ballet shoes but I don’t like them so well.They don’t fit that much so I prefer using my old ones even tough they don’t look that good anymore but on the other hand who really cares. 🙂 My last Ballet Class is 5 years ago so part of my preparation is also stretching. I love doing that. It’s very relaxing and not boring at all if you do it in front of the TV. I also got myself some help from The New York City Ballet which have some good videos on YouTube . I have their workout book at home too so it really helps a lot to reactivate your muscles. 🙂

These are my preparations for the Classes. The Patchwork/ Quilting Class starts tomorrow (15.2.) evening at 7pm and the Ballet lessons are going to take place every Saturday at 11am for the next 3 month.

Maybe some of you who read my post about “Following a new path” mind fully may ask what about the English Country Dance Workshop?! Right you are, I have to say. I didn’t miss that. The Course took place last weekend (12-13.2) but unfortunately without ME.  😦 I had huge pain in my back because of the physiotherapy treatment I get since a few weeks. I was really unhappy about the fact that I had to spent the weekend in pain and without entering the Class. I will have a one on one talk with the physiotherapy dude tomorrow, because on thing is for sure: I AM GOING TO THAT BALLET class this Saturday! So no new pain. End of discussion!

I will keep you updated about how the courses are going.:) If you have any questions or ideas of a new post please let me know. 🙂

Mucho love*Linn*

Tagged , , , ,

5 thoughts on “On your marks. Get set. GO!

  1. Sounds like a great way to start out 2011. I’m in a similar mode right now: focusing on intentional relationships/accountability, seeking God’s Will like mad, and taking more time to read rather than stay so “plugged in” online.

    Granted, some days, I’m too much of a social media junkie and not as much of a reader. Then other days, I’m good at staying unplugged and soaking up some good written word on paper 🙂

    Looking forward to watching your journey unfold this year my friend!

    • Linn Graves says:

      Hi Danny,
      thank you very much for your comment!:) Didnt know you have a blog too. Are you going to continue writing posts?!:) Would love to read it!
      A new year is always a good chance and I am happy to read that you are seeking to be and stay close to GOD,Danny. 🙂 I am really happy to have you following my journey and I am curious to follow yours!:)
      blessings*Linn*

  2. Amber says:

    Hi Linn! I loved this post and can’t wait to see your finished quilt! I love how motivated you are to go and do the things that you love. I really need to work on that!

    I am so jealous of you and ballet! I always thought it would be fun, but I’m not one who is very graceful, nor flexible. 🙂

    Can’t wait to hear how it goes!!!

    Love your blog posts Linn, even though I am behind in reading them! ❤

  3. Linn says:

    Hi Amber,
    you love ballet too?:) Thats so cool. Its my passion and i think that in this life I cant be without loving Ballet!!:) But you can always try to enter a Ballet Class for adults.Being graceful& flexible is something you can lern.:)
    I am so glad you like my posts and love being here on my blog!:) Hope to read a new post from you soon!!:) *hint*

  4. Janet says:

    Linn, I love the post, I love the fact that you want to learn new things. I promised that I would do that for 2011 and I am doing it too, and yes today I finished my website! Ballet sounds fun , I wanted to do it when I was little. The quilt making is challenging. but once you finish you will feel great and I know it will look amazing. I cant wait to see the finished product!

    Hugs and more hugs!

    Love

    Janet

Leave a Reply

